Poets logo

Who Is She?

A Poem

By Tammy GomezPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

Who is she?

I see the woman in the picture

My stomach churns

The visual is strange

It's been so many years

Seeing how you have changed

Yet knowing you haven’t

Who is she?

Eyes have faded, smile more of a grimace

It pains me to see

The sag in your face

Swollen like a pufferfish

Barely recognizable

Who is she?

A shadow of a memory

Still flickering somehow

Through all the suffering you’ve endured

Through all the poison you’ve put in you

And still continue to

Who is she?

It makes my heart hurt to see

I truthfully cannot tell

She sort of looks like her

But faded and old

Broken and cold

Who is she?

I honestly don’t know.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.