Poets logo

who came before me

who fought for me

By Brittany MacKeownPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
who came before me
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

did any of my ancestors have hopes for me

did any of them kneel with no degree to their name trying to connect the pieces of their grandchildrens’ destiny

what would it be like to show them my tv

or my muddled pedigree, so weighed down, akin to a locust spree

there’s something inside that tells of my history

whether it’s strains of DNA or some undiscovered master key

i am the messy aether, the thrown together potpourri

of a bloody hyperbole of a family tree

i am trying to shoulder this burnt reality

that my ancestors who fought for my life couldn’t foresee

it’s unfair that i ever came to be in this horrific stinging world made of the mistakes of the bourgeoisie

but for now under this chestnut tree i feel the breeze and catch the scent of the sea

and i hope, i hope, that my ancestors didn’t spend forever down on their knee

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Brittany MacKeown

I also go by my middle name, Renee, but you can call me about anything

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.