Poets logo

Who Are You?

Am I Really You?

By Blargha blargPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image via Unsplash

You wear your heart on your sleeve or so it seems

You dance in the rain and you forget to breathe

I don’t know what’s more pathetic

That you slip up sometimes or that you laugh while you do it

But while your demeanor is carefree you tremble

Is it part of the dance?

You laugh and you cry and you curse at the world

I heard that you hate drinking

Do you do it for fun or out of spite?

You spend money like a maniac for things you don’t need

You pinch pennies like crazy on your daily bread

You spend more time in bed than you do with any friend

You want to reach out, but your arms are too short and they’re chubby too

Wearing long sleeves is a choice you made because it looks cute

Modesty is beautiful because your body is not

Your self-care is only skin deep

You mask and you relax

But do you ever really relax?

You have no time to think about yourself because you’re to busy planning your escape

You treat your body as a prison

There’s no end to your self-inflicted stress

and I just keep screaming at you but it seems that I’m mute

Is this really me?

Am I really you?

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Blargha blarg

I like to create things. I love to talk. I think that writing is a great way to relieve stress. Thank you for reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.