Poets logo

Who Am I?

Stuck Between A Rock And A Hard Place

By Just DanielPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
Who Am I?
Photo by Ben Karpinski on Unsplash

Life in America:

the Greatest Land there is.

Stuck in America:

The land where you don't have to be a whizz.

The land of freedom, of expression, of joy,

of opportunity, of diversity, of Santa and toys.

The place where you can be as much as you want to be

or accomplish as little as there is to accomplish,

but in the end, at the end of the road of trees,

you'll just know that you are just another fish

swimming in the unfathomable, endless sea.

Been too long away from distant shores,

now this shore that I call home still seems mildly hostile,

but still I greet each awkward encounter with a pained smile.

performance poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryfact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Just Daniel

I write short fiction when I have time. There are also elements of my life interwoven with fantasy that I incorporated into my writing. I also like the unknown, so enter into the dark, true, and mysterious if you dare...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    you'll just know that you are just another fish swimming in the unfathomable, endless sea. I loved those lines so much! Your poem was so profound and poignant!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.