Poets logo

Who Am I?

A journey of discovery

By SammanthaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I wake to a new day, I look in the mirror and I wonder, who am I?

What a strange world this is, how I sit and I ponder, who am I?

I get myself dressed, and I stare out the window, as the cardinals sing, I stand there akimbo, I cook and I bake and I wash and I fake but I still can’t help but to think and to think, who am I?

I walk through the house and stop at a wall, I watch the sun glimmer as I soon start to fall, who am I?

Am I sleeping or awake, lost in a dream, is the truth of the world ready to bust at the seam? Who am I?

What a wicked world of love and of hate, how beautiful it is when we can forget, memories fade, oh how I’m elate, but I say, who am I?

The days are full, no fun, just mundane, In a world as lost as ours there is no need to be vain, the fireworks are gone, I need sleep so I yawn, but again I ask who am I?

I look around at all that I see, chaos, confusion, woe is me.

The world is in distress, can’t you hear? The world is in danger, this I fear.

So I look deep, to find just who I am. In a world full of sheep, my name is simply Samm.

But now you see, I know just who I am. A journey of discovery led me here to say “damn.”

At night, I stare up at the ebony sky and moonlight, to get lost in this world is easy, easy to lose sight.

I am the mother, I heal, love, teach, and I fight,

I am the daughter that picks up the broken pieces, one by one, each night,

I am the sister, to one lost, and to one finding the light,

I am the lover, of lost souls and those who hold tight,

I am the friend that can keep secrets, and not fight out of spite.

I, am the beauty that shines from within, a delicate frame, face fixed in a grin.

I, am everything to everyone yet nothing to no one, my mind all in a spin, how do I get out, and still how do I fit in?

The pride is gone but never the love, they can limit the celebration, but they can’t subdue the dove.

I love her, I love him, I love me, I love them.

I know who I am.

I am only HUMAN.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sammantha

I believe strongly in enjoying the little things in life. Reading and writing are both a passion of mine, something that ignites fire in the soul. A good piece of literature with some poetic writing is what I live for each evening.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Noor Ul saba Shah2 years ago

    really enjoy reading, it's sooo DEEP!!!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.