Poets logo

Who Am I?

You're not completely autism, so who are you?

By Monique StarPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Who am I? I try to figure out myself.

Different, outcast, abnormal.

Something was different about me, but what?

Autism, aspergers.

The treasure chest of my possession awareness

Wasn't unlocked by my mother

Until I was 11.

I know some people might have minds like me,

But I feel like Eeyore with Tigger's known thoughts:

"I'm the only one."

At times, I'm a zebra in a group of Dalmations.

I find several paths of understanding

When several songs enter my ears.

Autism awareness is the key that unlocks the door

To a world I never imagined.

As my eyes opened to a new world,

I realize there are certain people

Who either want to exile autism from their minds,

Or people who drag autistics and aspies

To the center of insulting jokes.

I question the media's motivation

To give birth to stereotypes,

With unawareness of giving birth to depression.

I hear insults and I think to myself,

"What the Hans Asperger is the problem?"

I'm part of a group that embraces autism.

Although the rope connecting autism and aspergers

Will be cut into two,

My heart's still the form of a puzzle piece.

I may talk to myself, stay alone, or play with water.

So what?

I just embrace what makes me me.

Open the window blinds wider

And the true world is realized.

Who am I? I am me.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Monique Star

I'm not the most sophisticated adult out there. I'm also not the best at communicating all the time, but I do try my best to get my thoughts out there into the world verbally or nonverbally.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.