Poets logo

White Rain

Inheriting an empire.

By Carly ButtonPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
White Rain
Photo by reza shayestehpour on Unsplash

They say they wanna live my lifestyle but is that what it’s about?

smoking in the kitchen as I kiss my momma’s mouth

haven’t seen dad in a week now he’s passed out on the couch

only opens his eyes to watch my girls titties bounce

I grab him by the cheeks and he doesn't reply

is it true, did you lie, bitch look in my eyes

money’s gone faster than you can say hi

Daddy’s locked up in the cellar, no way he’s getting better

Left me and my mom and one single letter

A kingdom of powder where now I was the queen

and a field of subjects notorious for getting mean

I was the heir to a throne where I couldn’t say no

And a job that I tried to leave but I couldn’t let go

cocaine had suddenly became the lead on the stage

the key to a game that he had left me to play

hiding secrets and lies like a fugitive in my mind

A dark chapter unfolding in the book of my life

I had dreams of one day becoming an author

now I’m sitting in my kitchen cooking crystals in a saucer

you wanna live my lifestyle, try living in fear

that one day a pop

will be the last thing you hear.

inspirationalsad poetryperformance poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.