Poets logo

White lines, neon signs, and everything divine

A short story.

By Rambler's SocietyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
White lines, neon signs, and everything divine
Photo by Sam Mar on Unsplash

Which will probably be the death of me. Hannah left me. She has slipped in between the blank figures that crowded the rooms. All I could hear was the bass of the music,

Bum Bum

Bum Bum

Bum Bum Bum

The beat overtook my body, every inch of me was vibrating every time I heard it.

Bum Bum

Bum Bum

Bum Bum Bum

I opened a door, hoping, longing, for an escape. All I found was smoke. It billowed out of the room, crawling to infect the "fresh" air.

Bum Bum

Bum Bum

Bum Bum Bum

My head was spinning, I felt like vomiting, and my legs were about to collapse underneath me. I didn't have a heartbeat anymore. All I could hear was,

Bum Bum

Bum Bum

Bum Bum Bum

I found Hannah outside in the backyard. She was still surrounded by what I could only assume were people. Hannah called me over and she was smiling. Her smile made my heart drop. I wanted nothing more than to feel safe. I'd have to wait a while longer.

Bum Bum

Bum Bum

Bum Bum Bum

I gagged as my nervous leveled out. I found peace in the backyard. I felt like I could run if I needed to. My legs were still weak. The wind could probably take me away if I let it.

Bum Bum

Bum Bum

Bum Bum Bum

I was dragged back inside. More people were coming outside anyway. In the living room, there were people surrounding the coffee table. I could feel my adrenaline rushing.

Bum Bum

Bum Bum

Bum Bum Bum

I couldn't stay focused. The world spun like before. There were people laughing, which clouded my focus momentarily. I smiled to fit in with the crowd. The cackling stops.

Bum Bum

Bum Bum

Bum Bum Bum

I awoke in bed the next afternoon.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rambler's Society

Hello everyone! I write fictional surreal stories and poems. I love writing and I hope that you enjoy reading what I've to offer. I have plenty more written down on my website so I'd love it if you'd go check it out!

ramblersociety.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.