Poets logo

White

The Shade

By Mars ShorePublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

White

scratched

in between

eyelids of

cream- no-

white-

in the crevice of

your face and

mine

remember?

White is what

sticks to me more than

it to you

because your insides

sprayed on my

outside is your version of

hot

but it's sick and you

do it anyways

so White it was

that when i washed it down

the drain

all i saw was

your stupid face

in the translucency

you begged me to bend over on the

White sheets

and the silhouettes traced by

White

bulbs lathered on your

cheeks twice

not three times

just twice.

White

sprinkled

under my eyelashes

you didn't notice but

i did it for

you

the White

would mimic yours but it

didn't

nor did you see

and my cover was gone

the color of mine

not yours-

White-

the color of the thing

the figure

i saw when i shut my eyes

the opposite of your black

White

the symbol in ethics-

the latter

White

when i got dressed to see

you i thought

it was your favorite color

but White isn't a color

you told me no

it's a shade white is

a shade white is

a shade

so why doesn't it darken my face when i

put my hand over my mouth?

lastly White were

the words that stuttered

out of my mouth

when you lent me your hands

and told

me to get up

told me to clean

up because

i was wearing

White on my feet

and

White in my hair

and all over my stomach

thanks to you.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mars Shore

eighteen year old fine arts major @ california institute of the arts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.