Poets logo

Whispered to the wind

Because

By Katie Published 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
Whispered to the wind
Photo by Lukasz Szmigiel on Unsplash

I walked, and walked.

Looking.........

Still it eluded me. I walked some more, guided towards a spot I did not know.

My feet took on a mind of their own, climbing up a grass covered hill.

When at last my feet stood still, I knew I’d found it at last.

The breeze blew strong from the East. I faced the wind and inhaled, it’s freshness filled my lungs.

I gathered the pages from my pocket, crumbled and stained.

All the words I’d written down, when the grief was strong in my heart.

When the tears still came easily to my eyes, staining the pages.

All those words I spoke to the wind. I could almost see how it seized them, pulling them along. Carrying them off to distant lands, scattering them amongst marshes and fields.

Lastly I fed the pages to the air, letting them slip from my fingers.

These strong words of love and devotion, the wind took away. Leaving me emptied, purged of all those feelings. It is how I needed to be.

Not healed, but at least, numb.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.