Poets logo

Whisper, "Aloha!"

I have not forgotten

By C. H. RichardPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
33
Whisper, "Aloha!"
Photo by Eleonora Patricola on Unsplash

Closing my eyes

I can still remember the sound

of a waterfall splashing over

stone as it cascades

down a path to replenish

**************************

Remaining still

I can still taste the salt

in the wind of the beach

where each bellowing wave

gently touches the sand

and retreats

as my soul slowly finds purity

*****************************

When I imagine

I see the joy of a culture

singing and dancing

sharing their home

with weary travelers

whom need more advice

on how to care

for the world

*********************

In any park

I can now recognize

an array of tropical flowers

the colors bursting

with a rainbow vision

that many a gardener

would hope to nurture

*********************

Yes, when I close my eyes

I remember the peace

you brought me Hawaii

when my world was

upside down

I remember and

will not forget you

in your time of need

*********************

From many miles away

across the sea

on the eastern shore

of the mainland

please hear my whisper

“Aloha!”

*******************************************************************

Here is the duo HAPA singing "In The Name Of Love."

This poem is dedicated to the people of Maui and the Big Island of Hawaii who are facing devastating loss from wildfires. This poem is part of collective effort of Vocal writers including Dana Stewart, Lilly Cooper, Cendrine Marrouat, Mike Singleton-MikeyDred, and Rachel Deeming to raise funds for those who have lost so much in the tropical state.

If you would like to donate to help these folks, here are some organizations that can use support:

Here are two beautiful and powerful poems from Dana Stewart and Mike Singleton-MikeyDred

Here is a story with beautiful photography from Cendrine Marrouat

Here is a beautiful poem by Lilly Cooper

Here is heartfelt and powerful poem by Rachel Deeming

Thank you for reading and please keep the people of Maui in your thoughts.

Any tips or income received will be donated as well to any of these organizations. Thank you.

social commentarynature poetryheartbreak
33

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • MecAsaf8 months ago

    Fantastic work

  • a dash8 months ago

    Outstanding madam

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    Thank you for the continued awareness on the matter. So much of the news gets buried beneath other stuff and we forget too quickly that people’s lives are still upside down

  • Blessings, prayers & UMCOR.

  • An awesome poem worded nicely to convey the power of memories and connection to those memories.

  • Amazing Piece❤️💯📝👌😉

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Amazingly beautiful heartfelt poem. Thank you for raising awareness and supporting the cause. I have so much respect for you

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Mahalo!!! Cindy, love your beautiful tribute to Maui and Hawaii. My heart is broken for Lahaina, Maui where the loss is unimaginable. While I never made it to Maui. I am familiar with the rich and famous history of Lahaina. Lived on Oahu for three years and visited the Big Island (Hawaii) for a week on R&R.

  • Sarah D9 months ago

    well written! Read mine too. https://vocal.media/fiction/an-irrevocable-dream-about-a-mermaid

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    Wonderfully done <3

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Beautiful Tribute Cindy! Lord please bless the people of Hawaii!

  • Just yesterday I found out about this fire. The least I can do is pray for every one of them. Loved your poem!

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    🌺 in solidarity

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    This is so beautiful! I have been to Hawaii several times and people are so welcoming! I'll be sharing widely!

  • Beautiful tribute. I’ve never been to Hawaii but my heart cries out for them.

  • J. S. Wade9 months ago

    Wonderful poem! Wonderful cause Cindy! ❤️

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Beautifully done.

  • Joe Patterson9 months ago

    May you be heavily blessed for using your voice as an artist to help those in need.

  • Thank you for sharing hopefully it will get a Top Story and more exposure

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Beautiful poem Prayers for Maui

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Beautiful Poem. They are in my thoughts and prayers ,too. 💓

  • Lana V Lynx9 months ago

    Such a beautiful poem, brings out a lot of emotions.

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Beautiful poem! I will try to get mine in today.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    What a beautiful tribute, Cindy! I've never been there, but I've always seen it as a magical place. Obviously, it's been in my thoughts.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.