Poets logo

Whip-poor-will

whip-poor-will

By Casey MariePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am a refugee of a homeland that burned away

I have adapted

Now, where I am is home, too

I have a family and I blend in,

Though it sometimes feels like wearing someone else’s sweater, and socks. And well worn boots

The trails aren’t as wild here

The roads don’t wander the way I remember

The birds are quieter here

I haven’t seen a bear in years

Or heard coyotes sing from the center of their pack,

In a cabin surrounded by red pine sentinels and cedar swamps

My boys, in the right light of shining moments, give me a glimpse of the home I lost

Their eyes dance with mischief, their hands find the small wild things hiding

They are as close as I can get

My home burned away

All that remains of what made me is

A bag of ashes kept in a box with my fathers name

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.