Poets logo

Which One?

Dreams, Dreams, Full of Dreams

By Kayton HickenlooperPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I was always told from a young age

To go after your dreams

But I get conflicted

Which dream do I go after

The one where I pick up a pencil

Or even a paint brush

And color a blank sheet of paper

With swirls and lines

Full of shades and colors

Where instead of paint by number

It is paint by day

By the end of it

I have enough art to decorate an entire house

Or do I go after the dream where I pick up a microphone

And sing until I lose my voice

Hitting the high notes

That can fill a cathedral

Harmonizing to my hearts content

Praying that I can give the person farthest from the room

The same chills that I get

Whenever I see someone sing with every ounce of passion that exists in their soul

Or do I chance the dream where I write and write

Every thought that runs through my mind

Like a verbal kaleidoscope

Spinning with every synonym for every color under the rainbow

Where I write about what lifts me up

What makes me numb

Or even the moments in between

What about the dreams where I set foot

In a whole new world

Where it feels as if I have finally touched the surface and rose up out of the shore

It is like I know exactly how the little mermaid feels

Where she asks

When is it my turn

Maybe she was further

Because even to dance where the people are

I'm just figuring out what my dreams are

art
Like

About the Creator

Kayton Hickenlooper

I write to clear my mind. To get out of the fog of daily confusion. An artist by heart. To live, laugh, and grow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.