Poets logo

Where There Is Darkness

"Where There Is Darkness"

By Miss MariahPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Let me tell you

I've seen darkness

I lived there for awhile

Dug myself a hole

& built a home there

I gave up

Let it weaken me enough to consume me

& I didn't care to come back up

Didn't care to see the light again

Until one day I resented it

I allowed myself to feel

The things that held me there

& I slowly crawled my way out

Through some failed attempts

I kept trying & fighting

The darkness somehow made me strong

Enough to see my own way out of it

It gave me the resilience I needed

To make sure I never sink that low again

& in a way I appreciated it

Cause here I am

Standing in the light...

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.