Poets logo

Where the Lands are Low

Ancestral Homeland and the Search for Identity

By Emma LaurensPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Amsterdam, Netherlands: Self-Taken Photo

I want to go where the lands are low

And it always smells like rain.

I want to go where the soft winds blow

And the past can live again.

Castle Ruins in the Netherlands: Self-Taken Photo

I want to go where the willow boughs

dip gently in the pond.

I want to go where the rivers flow

by the dykes that stretch far on.

Willow Tree by the River Bend: Self-Taken Photo

I want to go where the windmill sails

Turn steadily in the air.

I want to stroll through the picturesque vale

And smile without a care.

Windmills at Kinderdijk - UNESCO World Heritage Site: Self-Taken Photo

I want to walk on the cobblestones

By canals in photograph towns.

I want to walk past the red brick homes

That wear thatched roofs as crowns.

One of Many Canals in Utrecht, Netherlands: Self-Taken Photo

I want to go where the world feels right

And everything is green.

I want to go where all is beautiful,

Where the world is refreshed and clean.

World's Longest Rainbow Bike Path (Utrecht, Netherlands): Self-taken Photo

I want to be where I feel I can breathe,

Where nature lives on in good health.

I want to go there and never leave,

I want to relish in nature’s wealth.

Meadow by the River Waal: Self-taken Photo

I want to go where the wildflowers grow

in abundance at every turn.

I want to go where the lands are low

I want to go and never return.

Chicory Flowers along the Dyke: Self-Taken Photo

My love, my life, my homeland

I sing praise unto thee.

My love, my life, my homeland

I pray you'll set me free.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Emma Laurens

Emma Laurens is a college student and aspiring writer. Her main interests are creative writing, theatre, film, music, and adventure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.