Poets logo

Where The Heart Lies

for all those who have felt insecure, unloved or judged to be themselves.

By 3nd.0f.0blivionPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1
Where The Heart Lies
Photo by Nate Neelson on Unsplash

For years I have let them run me

Let their thoughts trouble and imprison me.

They pay heed to my body,

Whereas I never cared...

They made fun of how I seemed,

But I never dared...

It's been so long

They have run me around

I am sick and tired,

six feet underground.

But no longer shall they judge me

I will not let them nudge me

Because I am a creature if everlasting beauty!

The kind that may not show on my face

But stems from deep within my heart,

The kind that isn't easy to find,

but painstakingly hard.

Although, seek you shall find,

no longer shall you grind

At the feet of those

whose thoughts kept you encaged

You'll fly like a bird,

In great passion and rage!

You will have finally seen and realised ,

The bars within which

your heart had lied.

And you'll fly like a bird

In the great blue sky.

Without a care,

For you shall never dare

To dwell on those thoughts

of your appearance outside.

For you will only focus, on what lies deep within

You will finally have figured out

Where your heart

Really lies.

And nothing else truly matters

You will have realised ...

-Isy

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

3nd.0f.0blivion

poetry and music

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.