Poets logo

Where the heart is

Home is Philly

By Garold McnailPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I often hear home is where the heart is

but where is that

Home can be between four walls

an ally, or a flat

but home is like love

it can't be defined

but when you are there, the feeling is divine

See home is a place, you know when you leave

it's where you lay roots, that grow into trees

it's a hot coco in the snow

it's italian ice in the spring

it's more than where you sleep

its the place in which you dream

It's that piece of you that's missing

when you go away

It's the piece no matter where you are

you know will never change

It the place that make you smile

it's the place that you shed tears

its the place you spent all your life

or just a couple years

It's the place that makes you smile

it's the place that you may fear

it's the place if you were lost

you know it's always there,

See I tried running from home once

Convinced to see it the way the world told me

but when I left I missed the wawas, the cheesesteaks, and the hoagies

I missed basketball games at the parks, and laughing with my friends

leaving was what I needed to open up my lens

See home is where you build

that made you into you

Home is the place that will always be true

I often hear home is where the heart is

but tell me where that's at

It's the place that you are welcome

and never need a mat.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.