Poets logo

Where is Home?

A poem about the places where we live.

By Sarah MasseyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Week 2 of 52 Weeks of Inktober. Prompt: Home. Created by Myself.

Where is Home?

The place at night where I lie.

Doors and windows. Roof and walls.

Family walking through the halls.

Is this the place where home will be

Under the branches of a family tree?

The place in space that you occupy.

Sinking down in a cozy chair

Under a blanket with someone to share.

Inside their arms, problems are far away.

Is this the place I wish to stay?

The place to read a good book.

Millionaire of Monte Cristo or Baskerville hound,

Characters within the books are bound.

Am I at home between the pages

When my mind with a story engages?

The place to think by a brook.

Here I sit on an old tree stump.

Into the brook my thoughts I dump.

I consult the geese and ponder the fish.

“Is this my home?” Oh, how I wish!

The place beneath my skin.

Matter and molecules. Atoms and parts.

Veins and muscles. A beating heart.

Brain and blood vessels. Breathing lungs.

Is this the place where I belong?

The place where thoughts begin.

Dreams, imagination,

Ideas, and creation.

If to think is to be

Is this place meant for me?

The place where you are not alone.

I sit, and wait, and ponder.

Through wooded paths I wander.

Then it hits me, clear as day,

“I know the place where I can stay!”

Not in the pages of a book

Or by the fish in the brook.

Not in thoughts of the brain

Or the blood in the vein.

Not just a chair or open door.

Home, to me, is so much more.

This is the place I call home.

No matter where I roam,

No matter how far,

Home is wherever you are.

childrens poetry
4

About the Creator

Sarah Massey

Sarah is an animator and short film director at the birthplace of Route 66 Springfield, Missouri. A graduate of Drury University in the class of 2020, Sarah is published two fiction short stories in Drury’s Literary Magazine, Currents.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.