Poets logo

Where I'm From

and who I am.

By Emeline ScrivenerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Where I'm From
Photo by Courtney Hall on Unsplash

I’m from the farm with a buckeye tree.

From three-wheelers and snowmobiles,

And countless hours of a youth spent outdoors.

I’m from the sliding pocket doors.

From the sloped ceilings.

And the largest but creepiest closet.

I’m from the round, oak kitchen table.

From the slippery, country blue painted stairs,

And the big back porch to the pool.

I’m from rides with grandma and grandpa.

From Koffee Kup chocolate milk,

And lazy days splashing in the water at Cobb’s Fork.

I’m from social status and dirt poor.

From Lincoln and Franklin,

And Steve and Helen. Jack and Dorothy. Carlos and Mary.

I’m from all of these and more.

From who they want me to be,

And most of all, from betrayal.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Emeline Scrivener

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.