Poets logo

Where I call Home (Poem)

This poem describes what I feel is my home and how it doesn’t simply rely on where I am living.

By Jesse LeungPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Carrying bags around, in my car or the lockers at the gym,

Bundles of burdens threatening to break my back,

Couldn’t sleep in the parking lot with gangsters trashing bins,

Wrapping myself in blankets to save what warmth I had.

Like a turtle carrying its shell wherever it goes,

My home no longer consisted of place,

Until in a hospital I figured it out, that home can change depending on myself.

H is for heart, for your home may be where your heart is,

O is for origin, determining our ancestral home and ethnicity,

M is for mind, where our brains tell us what we believe is home,

E is for eternity, that home is where we spend most of our time.

So perhaps living out in the streets taught me something important,

To strive for a place where I belong,

And to realize no home on earth is permanent,

That nothing in the earth is forever set in stone.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jesse Leung

A tech savvy philosopher interested in ethics, morals and purpose.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.