Poets logo

Where Goes the Weary

If not to find a safe place to rest

By Jowie EspirituPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
3

Where goes the weary

if not to find a safe place to rest

like a tired sparrow after a long flight

finds comfort in its nest

and as the night would sing

its lovely lullabies

the sparrow sleeps

then again in the morning, flies

Where goes the wounded

if not to find a refuge to heal

like a crippled warrior coming home

after a tremendous ordeal

and as the sounds of war

would fade from his ears

the warrior breathes

and lets go of his fears

I am the weary sparrow

that sleeps through the night

and I am the wounded warrior

who comes home after a fight

yet where lies my nest

but in a far away tree

and where lies my home

but in a place beyond the sea

Did I ever fly too far

that I committed a sin

did I engage in a war

that I could never win

yes, I am the sparrow

but perhaps I am still on my flight

and, yes, I am the warrior

but perhaps I am still in the fight

And the day will come

that I can rest my wings

and sleep in my nest

and feel the comfort it brings

and be finally home

when the battle is done

and see through my wounds

that I have actually won.

Copyright ©️2023 by Jowie Espiritu

Mental Healthinspirational
3

About the Creator

Jowie Espiritu

I write to give myself a chance to express what I can't say out loud--- my own version of therapy that heals my wounded inner child.

I have 4 Poetry Books published on Amazon, copy this link to view my author profile. https://amzn.to/4dj6uDS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 days ago

    That ending was so powerful! Loved your poem!

  • Amazing poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.