Poets logo

Where do I fit in?

Wave effect

By Joseph JunePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
3

Where I Fit In

How can one dream without sleeping?

How can one sleep without a bed?

How can one have a bed without a house?

How can one have a house without a living?

How can one earn a living without being alive?

How can one be alive without a hope?

The dream is to survive the next minute

With the Boko Haram crisis.

The greener part of the land is already extinct

Thus, there's nothing left to envy in it.

Oh my dream!

I worked on it from my instincts to distinctions

From one academical level to the higher.

Had it inna my head -a life of golds and diamonds-

That once I'm done with school

Next! Work interviews from which to choose.

But how flat-filed have become my shoes.

Now coming home whence I started

And meeting the budget of few next generations already misused.

Finding the same world where kidnapping and killing are normal.

Power is rarely on, and people stay in the dark for weeks.

Many dies from infected wounds and malaria.

A chance to get a job without bribing first doesn’t exists.

Those who don't succumb to committing a crime to survive

Are laughed at and despised as they were freaks.

What's my world? Where do I fit in?

Am I destined to fit in one and stay there forever?

Am I able to break out from its grim?

Yes, I can, I have, and I will, do no fear.

If not in person but with my mind.

If not physically but through my ideas.

The world is a myriad of specks with strand of feelings and senses.

Each speck is a separate world but with inclinations interconnected.

Living, breathing, growing or shrinking entity

Like sea waves swell, oscillating and rising and falling with alacrity.

Making impact on the next world

Or on one that is many specks afar from one’s own entirely.

So many laws, regulations and rules in the way

Meant for the sole reason to keep the world in order.

“Not allowed”, “You don’t meet the criteria” …

Piled high those bureaucratic boulders.

Thus, destroying one’s dream at the same time

To break out from this suffocating speck for its owner.

But guess what?

I don't want to leave my speck of world.

I want to make it better, to change it for good.

Molding the policy and traditions of inhabitants,

Changing in turn everyone's world if I could.

Just like invisible but ever-present effect of a wave

Caring forth the cleansing of all falsehood

Still churning in my mind:

You said you have a dream

Meaning you had a sleep

What has happened to thy flock Oh! Shepherd

What was the dream you had again?

From whence do we crave?

For a hope for life.

For a life to live.

For a living to earn a house.

For a house to have a bed.

For a bed to have a sleep.

For a sleep to have a dream.

For the "Dream of a Nigerian Child" to come true?

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Joseph June

Come, discover the true Nigeria with me

Each story is true story about my country and my people.

Being poor has double meaning.

One is to live in poverty.

The other is to live without hope and dreams.

I have hope and dreams.

Therefore I am rich.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.