Poets logo

Where Are You Now

It's been two days since you died, dad.

By Lucero NievesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Where are you now

When the sky's turned grey

and I can't see your face

Is it raining

or are these wet tracks on my cheeks tears

When the room grows colder

I think of your warmth

My hand on your head

Your head on my heart

My heart shivering on your empty recliner

My body soaking up the scent of your empty bed

Where are you now, dad

I miss you

More than I thought I could at this age

Because never in my wildest nightmares could I have thought

of a single day without you breathing and smiling at me

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lucero Nieves

I'm twenty - three years old. Writing to grieve and never forget my beloved dad who was so cruelly ripped away from us because of COVID-19.

03.29.1969 - 01.23.2021

I love you forever, papi.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.