Poets logo

Where Are You, Christmas?

a free-verse poem

By ChloePublished 6 months ago 1 min read
5
Where Are You, Christmas?
Photo by Morgane Le Breton on Unsplash

Where are you, Christmas?

Where have you gone this year?

Nothing feels the same as it was

Last year;

When all my friends were here.

Where are you, Christmas?

Why aren’t you here with me?

Where did your laughter go?

Those nights spend with friends and family?

Where are you, Christmas?

Why have you left me?

You know I need you here.

Especially this New Year.

Now that my friends aren’t here,

the world loses its cheer,

and we buy and buy, forgetting that you’re near.

Where are you, Christmas?

Have you disappeared?

Have things changed so fast this year

that you had to leave because of fear?

I know my friends are no longer here

My brother’s moving on to College

but did you have to leave, too?

Where are you, Christmas…?

Are you still with me?

I know this year, nothing is the same…

but Christmas, I know that you never change.

Please come back, Christmas,

we all need you here

this year.

I love you, Christmas,

don’t leave us this year.

Holidaysad poetrynature poetry
5

About the Creator

Chloe

she’s back.

a prodigious writer at 14, she has just completed a 100,000+ word book and is looking for publishers.

super opinionated.

writes free-verse about annoying people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    It's so sad when things aren't the same anymore. Loved your poem!

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    AH, Chloe...I feel the same this year. Hope you find a spark of Christmas magic before long. I find It feels better to get our feelings out in poetry. And your poem was so heartfelt :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.