Poets logo

When You Roam the Nowhere Road

All the places I call "home," thank you for being there

By Dani BananiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
When You Roam the Nowhere Road
Photo by Frances Gunn on Unsplash

When you roam the nowhere road

you'll find yourself at peace, at home...

not once, not twice, but any old place

that gave you the comfort to show your true face.

In the greenest Midwest, where corn and cows grew

I found safety and comfort anywhere I should choose.

The forest behind that big old red barn

and the secret hideouts under hay and haylofts.

The little white house where my body lay rest

before moving out North, and toward the West.

Where towns were more packed and filled with small talk,

and youths were encouraged to sneak off and smoke.

The house where I lived when I first drove a car,

and the home I returned to when sadness did call.

When love arose around beautiful mountains,

I left a piece of my heart in exchange for true romance.

At any point, regardless of where

I've landed a home on the road to nowhere,

I can surely return to so many places

with my love ever present and familiar friends' faces.

There's home everywhere I've left my mark

by choosing to give up a piece of my heart

and leaving it where I know I will find

the brightest of lights when my sun doesn't shine.

The road to nowhere may sound a bit scary

but nothing compares to limiting where I

feel shielded by love and acceptance and care.

I'll always choose trying to go nowhere.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Dani Banani

I write through the passion I have for how much the world around me inspires me, and I create so the world inside me can be manifested.

Mom of 4, Birth Mom of 1, LGBTQIA+, I <3 Love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.