Poets logo

When You Pass Me By

Beyond the Physical

By R. M. FortéPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
When You Pass Me By
Photo by Sávio Félix on Unsplash

I wake in the night as though from a turbulent dream.

Knowing from the depths of my soul, I cling to something

My eyes have lost sight of; something of great importance.

A knock on the door moves my feet to action.

Arriving at the closed passing, I send my hand

Out to meet the cold brass handle.

As my wrist leans to the right exposing my palm

The bolts click, indicating their agreement

To allow passage to the other side.

With the frame unfilled by the open door, my heart sinks

At the sight of the quiet, white, vacant hallway.

From the back of my neck, a touch traces down

My shoulder before erupting into a rush of

Awareness, filling every inch of my skin.

I know this embrace; it once comforted me in the

Frigid void of night. Again, it held me close where

The water met the shores of Lazise.

While saltwater filled the banks of my eyes

Pressing to be released, I felt at home in

Your momentary presence.

Now my skin longs for your embrace as it

Calls back these tender moments.

Lemon lilts on the stagnant air, dancing with my senses

Entangling itself with the aroma of Lavender,

A crisp spring invitation from yesteryear.

I let my head fall back, lifting my chin to the ceiling,

Inhaling a paced, robust stream of air

To fill my tastes and refresh my mind.

Once lunges are filled, the aroma vapors into nothingness

As though memory alone was the cause of it’s

Arrival in a modest apartment room.

Where does it go to hide away after you,

The spirit I know, passes me by.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

R. M. Forté

Read. Think. Type. Repeat.

I'm a lyrisit by trade, a musician by training, and a coach by career, but here? Here is a door to my world, welcome in. I hope you enjoy your stay.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.