Poets logo

When You Let Her Go"

Regret and Sorrow, My Heart's Burdened Woe"

By Sindy Paola FigueroaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
12
You Only Know You Love Her When You Let Her Go

I never knew the depth of love, until she slipped away

Took her for granted, day by day, until that fateful day

Realized too late, the mistake I made, oh, the pain I know

You only know you love her, when you let her go

You only know you love her when you let her go

Regret and sorrow, my heart's in tow

Should've held her close, never let her leave

Now I'm left with memories I can't retrieve

Her laughter, her smile, her touch so sweet

Her absence now, a constant defeat

Every moment spent, a treasure lost

Oh, how I wish I could turn back the cost

You only know you love her when you let her go

Regret and sorrow, my heart's in tow

Should've held her close, never let her leave

Now I'm left with memories I can't retrieve

I took her for granted, never thought she'd go

But now I'm left with emptiness, the tears just flow

I realize now, what I had was rare

But I let her slip away, it's more than I can bear

You only know you love her when you let her go

Regret and sorrow, my heart's in tow

Should've held her close, never let her leave

Now I'm left with memories I can't retrieve

So if you've found your love, hold on tight

Cherish each moment, make it right

Don't wait until it's gone to know

You only know you love her when you let her go

sad poetry
12

About the Creator

Sindy Paola Figueroa

As a writer, it's crucial to refrain from passing judgment and instead strive to understand. A skilled writer not only embodies their own unique voice but also channels the essence of their friends.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Moralesabout a year ago

    ❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.