Poets logo

When will I be Free?

An ode to Juneteenth

By Joe PattersonPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
4
When will I be Free?
Photo by Tasha Jolley on Unsplash

When will I be free? I’ve been free since June 19th, 1865. I’m unbound, but I don’t feel alive.

When will I be free? 158 years ago they took the chains off my body and yet somehow they’ve still got me.

When will I be free? My homeland sees my face as filthy and always indiscriminately guilty.

When will I be free? The plantation bred strife still lives in me. I always see my brother as my enemy.

When will I be free? What’s the point of my liberty when There’s no justice or equality to follow me.

When will I be free? Every day it’s like I’m going insane because the world always wants to put me back in chains.

When will I be free? Almost two centuries later I still feel like a hostage. My ancestors didn’t die for a future where I’m still trapped in bondage.

When will I be free? Sometimes my life is unsavory. I’m technically not a slave but I still live in slavery.

nature poetrysocial commentaryslam poetryheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Raghavendra S Rao12 months ago

    I liked the flow of your thoughts and emotions. One day when the mindset changes and the will of people changes, everyone will be free. Keep the flame of hope alive. And have a positive outlook. Well written poem.

  • C. Rommial Butler12 months ago

    When we can finally look away from the superficial designations of culture, time, and place and inward to the individuals we are and reflect that back, honest and unashamed, then we are free. Sorry to say, we're a long way off as a species, in my opinion, but I'm glad I stopped by to catch your wordplay this day. Reminds me of the power of some of Douglass' work. "I prefer to be true to myself, even at the hazard of incurring the ridicule of others, rather than to be false, and to incur my own abhorrence." -Frederick Douglass

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.