Poets logo

When they Leave

Self Reflection

By Melissa EavesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
When they Leave
Photo by Elisa Photography on Unsplash

The mirror speaks to me in gestures kind and glances long

Self love that took four decades to learn

And the little girl inside of me sees me smile and hates me for it

She doesn't know the high cost of self worth

Although one day she might

When all the fireworks are gone

and the paparazzi leaves and she is left alone with herself

Where the facade of confidence and bluster

crumbles

and she knows

that she is the only one left to deal with herself

the partiers have all gone home

but she is certain that one of them

looked at her

and hated her for it.

For being her own

and reveling in it

I know what it feels like

To believe in the high of the crowd

In the exaltation, the exhilaration, of being ONE

Feeling a part

Belonging

Where everyone loves everyone

And then to be left alone

when only one who actually cares about you

is you

you have to pick up the pieces

move forward

and live alone

that little girl doesn't understand that, however

Although someday I hope she will

As she is a part of me

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Melissa Eaves

I am an freelance writer. I love the written word and the poetry of my soul is expressed by mastery of it.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Patterson2 years ago

    Beautiful and relatable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.