Poets logo

When The Rain Comes

Life Lessons

By Dan R FowlerPublished 19 days ago Updated 19 days ago 1 min read

When The Rain Comes

In a silent world standing speechlessly,

Forbidden words fight upon my lips endlessly.

I stand chaste by humanity’s silly restrictions,

Their rules are nothing more than people’s assumptions.

Yet, the rain keeps falling upon my face,

No matter the day, the time, or the place.

It brings with it the reason that I came,

Allowing me to speak in silence without shame.

It’s the rain that holds me tightly keeping me still,

Preventing me from faltering, keeping me real.

For without it into the night I’d disappear,

Running from invisible ghosts screaming in fear.

It’s the rain that keeps me from being alone,

As I stand many miles from yesterday’s home.

A place that held all that I knew was right,

But vanished without speaking into some rainy night.

It’s the wash of droplets flooding my scared face,

As it speaks of truth and love without disgrace.

And as I stand in the rain-soaked shadows all alone,

I hear invisible whispers spoken in somber tones.

In the depths of my soul now drenched I stand,

Having been taught Rain’s lesson one I understand.

It’s the things that only rain can teach me I see,

Things in its sprinkles, droplets its abundant glee.

Now before morning the rain has come and gone,

Its lesson is well taught much like a song.

Singing without words tapping repeatedly,

The words of life and love and laughter endlessly.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • shanmuga priya19 days ago

    The lines......Its lesson is well taught much like a song.....most impressive...

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.