Poets logo

When the Night Comes

And I rest my head...

By Darby S. FisherPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
When the Night Comes
Photo by Jp Valery on Unsplash

When the night comes

And I rest my head

Deep sleep evades

As I stare straight ahead.

The white of your pillow case,

Littered with stray brown hairs,

Reminds me of where you used to be.

Write me an essay on why

We ever have to stray from

The warmth in which we lie

With legs intertwined, draped over another

Throughout the morning and noon.

But when the night comes,

And you have travel when daylight shines.

I must lock the door behind you

And spend another night alone,

Staring at the white of your pillowcase

Littered with stray brown hairs.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Darby S. Fisher

Young and tired writer of all sorts of things.

Adventure fantasy: Skeletons: Book One

Horror fantasy: Lonely Forest

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.