Poets logo

When the Gates of Dawn Open

#VocalNPM

By Carson StonePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I want to be there on the day,

The gates of dawn open for me.

I want to see the sunlight

Flood into the sea.

I want the earth to behold

The shining light of hope.

I want to be a part

Of a colorful kaleidoscope.

When the sun streams down

And opens up her arms

I will bask in her shine

And bless heaven for her charms.

When the gates of dawn close

And the moon flows to earth

The sun will feed her light from the heavens

And to stars the sky will give birth.

When the demons see the moon

And hate the light she brings

I will praise the heavens

And cherish its kings.

When the gates of dawn open,

The sun will rise once more,

And the cotton candy clouds,

Will open up the door.

When the moon joins the sun,

The two celestial beings will kiss,

For only they care,

Of the heavens I dearly miss.

When the gates of dawn close,

Worry not for me,

The lock of darkness encompasses,

But I have the key.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Carson Stone

Instagram: @thetidestone

Twitter: @cryingcarson

Hi! I'm Carson, a person, half-godless, who is no poetry goddess. I minor in creative writing at an arts school and mostly just try to keep myself together

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.