Poets logo

When The Dealing’s Done

I’m Out

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
9
When The Dealing’s Done
Photo by Julius Drost on Unsplash

Round and around

On this emotional ride

To find what I found

and then hold it inside

The secrets to change

This unimaginable heart

More than rearrange

But, go back to the start

Before the game ended

And I forfeited my cards

When I first befriended

The one who shattered my heart

Before I could understand

How brokenness felt

From the one and only man

Dealt me the cards that he dealt

But choices were made

And I stand by them now

In between, love and hate

And un-taking that vow

Though the lessons were hard

They were learned anyhow

I’ve returned my self pity, and the last of my cards

heartbreak
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    This was so sad and emotional! Very poignant!

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Two lines struck me; "The secrets to change"- this is so true that with each heartbreak there is change hopefully growth, but always change. The other line "In between love and hate", which is omg is so true! Where most relationships fall when ended. Beautiful poem ❤️

  • Mark Graham9 months ago

    Everything is a game of chance.

  • Brenton F9 months ago

    Sadness tinged with the silent dignity reclaiming of everything and that last line!

  • "You've got to know when to hold 'em, know when to fold 'em, know when to walk away, know when to run." So did you walk away or run like a bat out of hell?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.