Poets logo

When Into the Earth You Surrendered

Everything in the World You Became

By A_Skeleton_SpeaksPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1
When Into the Earth You Surrendered
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I still reach for you

When I know you won't return

Hard to believe it's true

Something I cannot seem to learn

How to exist without you here

How to stand on unsteady ground

I feel like you're still near

I feel you all around

You're the song the birds sing as they stir the night from its slumber

You're the shadows blanketing the city as it sleeps

You're the spirited lightning dancing across the dark competing with thunder

You're the sweet aroma permeating the air as a tea steeps

You're the whisper in the wind as the night's secrets unfurl

You're the cascading sands possessing time within an hourglass

You're the breath the rose takes every morning as its petals uncurl

You're the wish brought to life by a dandelion skipping across the grass

You're the foundation of a statue reigning in magnificent stature

You're the electrifying effervesce in a glass of champagne

You're the strength of a warrior woven into a dreamcatcher

You're the promise of healing after a liberating rain

Though the hole you created when you journeyed on has left me in a haze

And you deserved much more than you were given

Your presence lingers throughout all my days

Defending me from my demise in the land of the living

Everywhere I search and turn

Denying that it is true

I know you won't return

But I still reach for you

listsurreal poetrysad poetryinspirationalart
1

About the Creator

A_Skeleton_Speaks

Formerly: Introducing Poetry

Writing allows me to release

All that holds me

Hope you enjoy the journey with me on a path to healing and growth!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ruth Stewart12 months ago

    Loss is so human and relatable. Thank you for writing this lovely delicate piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.