Poets logo

When I Turned Seventeen

a reading into Letters I'll Never Send

By Chris Davis Published 4 years ago 1 min read
1
"Are you sure you want to abandon your masterpiece?"

when i turned seventeen

i told myself

Love didn’t exist.

that if anybody told me they loved me

they didn’t mean it

or that they didn’t understand what it meant

i told myself that Love is what we made up

to forget about how lonely we are.

that Love was a bedtime story

told to me as a child

to conceal the truth that is;

i am not worth it.

when i turned eighteen

i told myself to talk to her

to pay for her coffee and ask her to sit with me

i told myself to tell her

my favorite scene in that movie

my aspirations

where i want to be in ten years

she told me her dreams

her favorite line in that book

her deepest desires in life

i told myself that i liked talking to her

that i should see her more often

and get to know her better

i told myself to let her walk around in my mind

to let her in even though

i was afraid of what she might find.

i told myself maybe it won’t hurt as bad this time

maybe i can take it

maybe she is worth it.

when i turned nineteen

i told myself i could have been wrong in the past

that Love could exist

that someone could mean it

and i didn’t have to be alone

that i might just be worth it

i believed that and gave myself to her

so when i kissed her

i told myself i loved her.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Chris Davis

My mind drifts like the rivers of high Colorado and my heart lies in the arms of Mother Nature. My soul is tied to the strings of the universe and my energy flows to and from the consciousness around me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.