Poets logo

When I Raise My Eyes

By Laura Franco

By Laura FrancoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Arizona sunset

When I raise my eyes

to the pink and orange Arizona skies,

an ember ignites inside my mind.

It leaps into flames as

The streaks of blue and cream

Interwoven into abstract shapes

come alive during that hour golden.

Waves of peach and honey

intersect into amorphous wisps.

This vision brings me peace,

brings me strength.

The spectral display of colors

resonate with the vivid colors in me.

Olive, apricot, rose, chocolate, & copper,

the unique palette of my creation.

I stare as long as I can.

I want to remember every moment,

every shade of every phase.

Saffron and scarlet feed the flame.

My mind so stimulated

by displays of visual beauty,

and prismatic optical illusions.

My eyes analyze its patterns,

track its movements.

I look up and I see

the wonderful unique creation

of that day’s vapors

Charcoal grey and cerulean

settling into a scene.

I enjoy every intangible stream.

I am present in this moment,

So connected, so serene.

Envisioning a story from abstraction,

Creating colors and shapes Into characters of a fantasy scene.

As it changes into deeper pigments,

Crimson and violet,

so fleeting,

The slight whispers

of fading colors and shapes

linger gently.

When it has faded

from deep indigo to true black,

My eyes are already missing

the temporary masterpiece

in that vibrant chromatic scene.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.