Poets logo

When I miss you

My feelings for my best friend after a 4 year crush

By Stefan LatimerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
When I miss you
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

I can touch your skin with a buzz

Catch your attention with a tune

We can talk without speaking

By the light of day or with the moon

I hear your voice with my eyes

And see your face in my mind

I drink your warmth when we embrace

Yet when we hug, it's hard to find

I'm alive when I see you

But die when you're in sight

I'd rather hold you in my hands

Than hold you in my arms at night

I can see the letters frown

When you read what wasn't clear

But I cannot tell you why

I miss you when you're here

You can make my heart shine

Just by leaving me a note

Jokes and conversation

Though no words leave our throats

I love you and always will

No matter what we say

Talking to you when you're gone

Gets me through the day

It took me a while to see

That this is my biggest fear

That one day you will realize

I miss you when you're here

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Stefan Latimer

I am a Paramedic and Firefighter, Fiction enthusiast and Science Buff, and Jack of all Interests. I mainly write fiction but I have been known to pen an opinion on occaision.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.