Poets logo

When I Made Stars Cry

A Prose Poem

By Mackenzie DavisPublished about a year ago 1 min read
7
When I Made Stars Cry
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Who was this girl who ran waiting in the shadow? I watched her from my window. A street of darkness pooled below, but she shone as she ran(, and she ran for miles, clear as a star.)

Soon I began to wait. A gear clicked alive as my eyes grew brighter with the image of the running girl; expectation glazed my sight of her. Who was this girl watching the shadow?

Here and there, I spotted lights. A blue one made me laugh but the green one was kind. I tasted the pink one when tears cooled my lip. Then a white light aroused a fury just behind my navel.

The girl was running from me.

I chased the white light. Who was this girl who ran waiting in the shadow? The heat of my navel propelled me for miles. From my window, I watched her as a proud mother. She shone like a star.

I realized I ran waiting for her to catch me. So I stopped. White light danced with the shadow. She was before me, white burning, and all the while I stood at my window, waiting, watching.

Who was this girl watching the shadow? She eyed my fury, prodded at its nibbling glow. A finger prodded at the nibbling darkness. Her eyes were pink. I touched the light like water, but it shied away. She cried.

The girl was running from me.

Cold pried my fingernail as I tapped the window. It comforted the darkness outside, comforted the light. Then I blinked. I pulled the gray curtains closed and went to sleep.

surreal poetrysad poetry
7

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Very mysterious, and beautifully written ❤️

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Interesting! the reader wonders what you did to make the stars cry. Nice piece.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Mackenzie, this was a really beautifully written piece! I loved your vocabulary choices and your vivid imagery you painted into the story! Its cause for some serious pondering and I feel like I'm still absorbing the meaning of this pieces! Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.