Poets logo

When I'm Home

by Julie Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
23
Where I grew up, and my parents still live.

I’ve lived in many places,

Each home a place of pride

Growing up with family

Established guidance I applied.

My homes weren’t always perfect,

Although we always tried.

Just how fortunate I felt,

Depended on with whom I allied.

*

Home is where I am

Home is who I’m with

Home is what I feel

When I’m home

*

Before too long, I broke away

And started my own family.

Then, home was sometimes chaos,

More often, sweet and carefree.

My spouse and I, we helped to shape

The people our kids would be,

Adding yet another branch

To our growing family tree.

*

Home is where I’m planted

Home is smiles from loved ones

Home is feeling welcome

When I’m home

Yes, home is that warm feeling

When I’m home.

inspirational
23

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.