Poets logo

When I look at you

I see my reflection

By Bahora Saitova Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
When I look at you
Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

When I look at you, I see my eyes

I see my hopes and my desires

I see my fears and my doubts

When I look at you, I see my heart

I see the fierce love and the undying loyalty

I hear the pounding of heartbeats

I hear the heartbreaks and the pain

When I look at you, I feel my soul

I feel the deep compassion and the empathy

I feel the longing and the naivety

I sense the despair and the wariness

When I look at you, I see humanity

I see a person trying their best

I see the wild, big dreams

For I dream them, too

And I love like you do

I care like you do

I hurt like you do

I bleed like you do

I live like you do

I die like you do

So why do you call me different?

Where is the difference?

That I cannot see

What makes you worthy of living?

That you seem to think I am not worthy

What right do you have to happiness?

That you deem I should not have

For when I look at you

I see an equal, a human being

Made of soft flesh and fragile bones

Not steel that can take anything

So how, then, can you believe you have

The right to kill another human being?

***

Thank you for reading!

Bahora Saitova

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bahora Saitova

Dreamer. Writer. Sees the magic of life through stories and words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.