Poets logo

When I Close My Eyes

Lurking below the surface

By Bethany GPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
When I Close My Eyes
Photo by Gregory Pappas on Unsplash

One night I lay and dreamed of standing

On a shore of rubble, alone.

Across the water, a mushroom cloud bloomed.

If the distance was enough was unknown.

Then a wolf emerged from behind a boulder

And I weighed the odds of a fight,

Until, I realized, they travel in packs,

And I wouldn’t outrun their bite.

Another night, another wolf walked

On hind legs with top hat and vest.

He served as a footman to a sorcerer

Who kept the nearby town oppressed.

He came in a carriage, enthralled a young woman

And sawed off her foot for a spell.

Her stump still bleeding, she tottered away

Passed her neighbors lacking limbs as well.

In a new nightmare, I saw myself taken

By a man who had me watched at all times

By a fellow captive with Stockholm syndrome

And the world thought me an accomplice to his crimes.

The only escape was to get arrested

But when I tried to turn myself in

My captor shot me; as I laid on the ground

There was a hole where my face should have been.

Despite being wary of what I read and watch

And most days are smiles and blue skies

I am shocked by the horrors of my mind that surface

At night, when I close my eyes.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Bethany G

I was looking for a new hobby

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Bethany GWritten by Bethany G

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.