Poets logo

When I Can't Seem to Sleep

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Sometimes

When I can't seem to sleep

I can write

Like a maniac raving

In slavish delight

To the barking mad

Lunacies

Loneliest night

Where I moonlight as me

And upstage other parts

That I keep under wraps

And entombed in the dark

Like a heart in a jar

On display in a bleak

Show museum

When I can't seem to sleep

And what secrets I keep Are all leaked to the public

But no one one among them

Would durst to be cursed

By my hex of depressive

Confessions immersed

In abysmal residual

Remnants of past

Strewn and scattered memories

Shatter like glass

From a cracked-mirror fist

Of what does it all mean

Still attempting to piece back

Together a dream

Just as broken as ever

Awoken to greet

The deceit I delete

When I can't seem to sleep

Merely reach for the pen

And allow it to speak

For the creature contained

In this well-mannered freak

Where by day it maintains

An illusion defusing

Conflictual bombs

All around me before

They explode into qualms

That I have with a world

In despair,

Disarray

Disrepair

And dismay once again

My disguise will betray

The real self

I withheld

But I'd like you to meet

The complete version counting

The seconds like sheep

In my true nature form

When I can't seem to sleep

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.