Poets logo

When I am old

When I am old and my teeth are loose

By Barbara M QuinnPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
When I am old
Photo by Matt Bennett on Unsplash

When I am old

When I am old and my teeth are loose, I can already only watch others

gnawing on chicken legs and biting into thin apples. In that case

Please place me in a secluded corner and

I will have a bowl of hot rice mixed with red dates and lotus seeds to keep me company.

When I am old and can no longer see the things that are close at hand.

Please don't introduce me to your

Please don't introduce me to your precious friends and guests.

My hair, my wrinkles, my scruffy beard

even the way I stand is no longer comfortable.

When I am old, there is no need to listen to my advice, to look at my face.

I will only be in your right choice or

respect and compassion, giving wrong and confusing answers.

Or they never came to earth at all.

When I am old, no matter where you are, even if

the sky is the limit, no need to be attached.

I have my unique way to live freely and with dignity

living. Each strained breath

and slow pause only warns time and air.

inspirationalsad poetryart
Like

About the Creator

Barbara M Quinn

I hope you like my article.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.