Poets logo

WHEN DO YOU FEEL PRIDE

and how does it make the people near you feel?

By Cellestine AggreyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
WHEN DO YOU FEEL PRIDE
Photo by Liam McGarry on Unsplash

The truth? I feel more pride in others than

I do about myself; When checking out

old music written by some great old men

I think "We could have been the best of friends

if not for what centuries portend I tend

To think what painters, what a picture, what a tune

while being self-deprecating all day that's why

the truth I want to know is what it took,

for greatness to reach you. The badaboom's

dissection, show me what the audience assumes.

My pride's still young and largely still unused,

but don't underrate that pride dear stranger,

its colours stick like glue and rainbows

don't underrate them, and my pride, in loving you.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Cellestine Aggrey

I want to know what it took the best writers to get good. I'm curious. The minute Shakespeare, WC Williams, T Hughes, CA Duffy had done their best work must have felt like sky diving. We all should know what that deep catharsis feels like.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.