Poets logo

When Did I Lose My Innocence As A Girl?

A Poem About Girlhood

By KristinaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Like
When Did I Lose My Innocence As A Girl?
Photo by Simon Maage on Unsplash

Trigger Warning from Author: The following poem briefly mentions sexual harrassment and assault. This poem is meant for mature audiences.

When did I lose my innocence as a girl?

I lost my innocence when my interests changed from Barbie’s to boys.

I lost my innocence when I cringed at the thought of shopping at Justice and Claire’s.

I lost my innocence when I couldn’t leave the house without eyeshadow or mascara.

I lost my innocence when I started playing softball. Apparently, if you play sports as a girl, you are too masculine. Boys don’t like girls with muscular legs and arms bigger than theirs.

I lost my innocence when I wore a bikini for the first time and hated what I saw in the mirror.

I lost my innocence when white nail polish was no longer a color but a secret code.

I lost my innocence on the fourth of July; it was a hot summer night. A group of men catcalled me for the first time. I was thirteen and just started feeling comfortable in jean shorts.

I lost my innocence when my body was no longer seen as a body but as an object.

I lost my innocence when I discovered that sexual comments from boys weren’t compliments; they make me vulnerable, and catcalling is sexual harassment, and coercion is assault.

I lost my innocence when I realized that I’d spent my entire life attempting to please others because perfection is an unreachable standard for women, but perfection is only an idea for men.

I lost my innocence as a girl when I began bleeding the blood from my womb; I am officially a woman.

- @quietvisualmind

performance poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Kristina

Hello! I'm Kristina or @quietvisualmind. I'm a published poet, writer, and self-taught artist. I also hold a BA in English with an Emphasis in Professional Writing. Welcome to my mind!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.