Poets logo

When Daddy Comes Home

He will be home soon

By Lanie CampbellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Fetch a big bowl from the cupboard. A mixing spoon too.

What’re we making?

Chocolate cake.

For daddy?

Yes.

Cause chocolate cake is his favorite?

Yes.

So that he’ll come home tonight?

Of course he’s coming home. He always comes home.

He didn’t yesterday, though, did he?

Sometimes adults disagree. They need time apart. We’re working on things, though. The things we disagree on.

About grown-up stuff?

Yes.

And how he doesn’t answer his phone when he’s working late?

Yes, like that.

And how sometimes he doesn’t use his nice hands?

Mhm.

And about how he comes home late and he’s clumsy and noisy and you say he’s too knee-brated to sit up?

That too.

What does knee-brated mean?

It means ‘silly’. Grab the brown sugar.

Can I taste the batter?

No.

Why not?

It’s special for daddy.

Can I lick the spoon?

No.

Why not?

It’s just for daddy.

What are you putting in there now?

Grown-up stuff.

Why is it green?

That’s how they make it.

Why does it smell like that?

It’s sweet. It’s perfect for dessert.

Why does daddy get some and I don’t?

Because you’re already such a good girl. This will remind daddy to be good.

So that he doesn’t get his knee-brated and use his angry hands?

Exactly.

Will he take me to the park and play dolls with me?

He’ll never say no to you again.

Will he maybe get me a kitten?

We’ll talk about it later. Open up the oven for me. The batter’s ready.

Should I set the timer for thirty minutes?

Exactly. Now wash up for bed now.

I can’t stay up for daddy?

He’ll be upset to see you’re up so late. Then he won’t want his cake.

Then he’ll be mean tomorrow?

He’ll be just like normal.

I want him to be nice. Can I stay up for five more minutes?

No, baby. I don’t want you to be scared. I’ll wake you up first thing in the morning, okay?

Okay, momma. Good night!

Sweet dreams, baby.

art
Like

About the Creator

Lanie Campbell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.