Poets logo

"Whats Wrong?" A Poem

A Reflection of Media's Influence on Young Women

By Em MarshallPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by E. Marshall (author of poem) 

My natural state

Basic place

Neutral face

Oh huh?

Wait

There’s nothing wrong.

What do you mean?

Guess I’m just too far gone

To see how the

Media-induced

Stereotypical

Lipstick

Eyeliner

Blemish free

Pastel pink

Not me

Is who I have to be.

Tell me….

Who are you today?

Oh I see

You wanna be that

Barbie doll

Pop star

No one but a mockstar

Fangirl

Drama queen who always seems to get the scenes

Drop dead “gorgeous?”

Die-hard follower

Of someone who is

Just a

TV

Music

Movie personality

Written

Scripted

Airbrushed

Actress

Who caused you to ask me

What’s wrong?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Em Marshall

Freelance Writer, Animal lover and pet mom! I currently work walking dogs and as a freelance writer and webcomic artist!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.