Poets logo

What Would You Miss?

#VocalNPM

By Megan ArtusPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Close your eyes.

Nice and tight.

Squeeze out all of the light.

What would you miss seeing if you lost your sight?

What is it that you would miss most of all?

I would miss a lot.

I would miss the shapes of clouds in the sky and grass coming up through cracks in the sidewalk.

The mountains, every last thing about the mountains.

Oh and the ocean.

The sand and the shells.

I would miss colors and animals and-

and just about everything in this world.

I would just plain miss looking and seeing.

Because with looking and seeing comes feeling.

And I think honestly I would feel scared most of all.

I love looking, watching, seeing, noticing.

I would miss doing all of that.

But what I think I would miss most are the faces of all the people I love.

Yes, I would most definitely miss those most.

I could go without hearing their voices or catching their scents, but looking into their faces?

That is something I would ache to have back.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Megan Artus

@megdmerrillwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.