Poets logo

What Women Want

A poem against chivalry

By AVPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
What Women Want
Photo by Ehimetalor Akhere Unuabona on Unsplash

I don’t want a man to hold the door for me

I don’t want a man to carry my bags

I don’t want a man to give me their jacket

I don’t want a man to pay the bill

I don’t want a man to send me flowers

I don’t want a man to give up their seat for me

I don’t want a man to walk me home

I don’t want a man to ask me dance

I can do all of these myself

I want men to stop killing us

I want men to stop policing our bodies

I want men to stop raping and abusing us

I want men to stop gaslighting us

I want men to stop talking over us

I want men to stop congratulating themselves for doing the bare minimum

I want men to do the fair share of household chores

I want men to treat us with the dignity and respect that we have always deserved

Women can’t do these for you

social commentary

About the Creator

AV

A whole lot of thoughts structured into blog posts

Instagram: @_instashika

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AVWritten by AV

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.