Poets logo

What Waits

A Fate Worse Than Death, Divinely Fated

By Chris ZPublished 8 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
A darkness without orient

Not as young as I look,

not as old as I feel.

My mind’s circuits cinders

My soul’s wounds won’t heal.

Heartache cuts bone deep

Hindsight hinders sleep

I sold my soul

to The Devil for keeps.

Those who’ve wronged me

have been wronged in kind.

An eye for an eye

hath left me half blind.

Cautionary tales

parables that time proved true

sages’ psalms, and

pundits’ proverbs

I made deaf my ears

and made hard my heart to.

Too many sides

to every story.

To moral victors

Sparse goes the glory.

We all owe a death

We’re all born with that debt;

Yet, none know what waits,

Heaven's gates? Styx’s straits?

All hope abdicated,

The sands of time vitiated.

A deafening silence

nevermore sated;

A fate worse-than-death,

divinely fated.

performance poetryinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Chris Z

My opinion column garnered more reader responses than any other contributor in the paper's 40-year run. As a stand-up comic, I performed in 16 countries & 26 states. I've written 2 one-man shows, umpteen poems, songs, essays & chronologies.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Chris Z is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

CZWritten by Chris Z

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.